Linard Nicolay
Sculptor
Eight Stones
 
„Plastic art“ is a comprehensive designation of the artistic activity of creating structures, a process which, in times past, was accomplished by adding material to create three-dimensional forms in mimicry of nature; “sculpture”, on the other hand, designates a work of art shaped directly (in stone) by the removal of material. In this sense, the newest works by Linard Nicolay are prototypes of sculpture: eight hewn quarry stones of Laaser marble as the basis for artistic pursuit.
 
At first, literally carving one’s own perception of the world in stone appears to be anachronistic in the reality of today, permeated ever more by virtual worlds, computer-generated. In that light, how may we interpret the eight stones by Linard Nicolay?
 
An initial answer is given by close examination of the works themselves. The blocks, broken in package sizes, at first retain their natural forms which, through artistic elaboration of selected surfaces and edges, have been complemented and contrasted. The incorporated forms are also organic, that is, themselves borrowed from nature. The stone is completely enveloped by the sculptural drawing, giving us, therefore, no precise positioning of the finished work which can be placed at various angles on a pedestal. The eight stones not only displace space but also include through apertures the surrounding room within their domain. The relationship between volume and space varies, depending on whether the body mass appears as a closed or as an open space-defining form.
 
Classical sculptural themes, such as monumentality or allegory, are not the center of the artistic statement, but the stone itself. Only through his precise intervention does Linard Nicolay make evident the characteristics of the stone as a material, its structure, its strength and its form. Openings appear where artistically calculated and technically possible: forms developed upon nature’s indication. The sculptures unfold their effect through tension between the hewn and the unhewn surfaces. Perceived in this manner, the eight stones are not only effective in and of themselves but can also be considered as a representation of the imperiled equilibrium between the progress of civilization and the vulnerability of nature.
 
Jürg Graser, architect Zurich
(Translation: Dr. Carolyn Kayser)

 
back to top
 

© 2008 Linard Nicolay

D / RUM / F / I / E

Linard Nicolay
Sculpteur
Huit pierres
 
Plastique est le terme générale pour désigner les corps formés par le biais d’une activité artistique. Celle-ci se situant à travers différentes époques de l'histoire, il en résulte des motifs en trois dimensions inspirés par la nature. Sculpture est le terme pour désigner une œuvre extraite directement de la pierre, devenant matière taillée. Les nouveaux travaux de Linard Nicolay sont dans ce sens des sculptures tout droit achétipiques: Huit moellons travaillés à partir du marbre de Laas, matière de l'activité artistique.
 
Il semble anacronique de sculpter littéralement ses imaginations dans la pierre, surtout dans le contexte actuel de plus en plus noyé dans une réalitée générée par les ordinateurs. Autrement dit: Que nous racontent les huit pierres de Linard Nicolay?
 
Contemplons les oeuvres de manière précise. Les blocs extraits, aux dimensions d'un colis, mantiennent tout d'abord leur forme naturelle avant d'être complétés et contrastés à travers l'élaboration artistique des surfaces et des bords. Même les formes travaillées sont organiques, c'est à dire, empruntés de la nature. Le dessin sculpté enveloppe toute la pierre, c'est la raison pour laquelle il n'y a pas une mise en place définitive de la sculpture finie, elle peut être placée sur un socle de différentes manières. Les huit pierres n'épousent pas seulement l'espace, mais intègrent, avec leurs ouvertures, l'espace entouré dans leur action. La relation entre volume et espace est différente, selon que la masse du corps apparaît fermée ou ouverte.
 
Au centre de l'affirmation de l' image, les sujets classiques de la sculpture, comme la monumentalité ou l’allégorie, n’y sont pas représentés, mais plutôt la pierre en soi. C'est avec des interventions précises que Linard Nicolay rend visible les particularités du matériau pierre, sa construction, sa dureté et sa forme. Des ouvertures se forment, artistiquement recherchées et techniquement possibles; des formes là où la nature les a suggérées. Les sculptures déplient leur force dans la tension entre les surfaces laissées naturelles et les surfaces travaillées. Dans ce sens les huit pierres ne se présentent pas seulement pour ce qu'elles sont, mais peuvent être considérées comme allusion à l'équilibre menacé entre le progrès civilisateur et la fragilité de la nature.
 
Jürg Graser, architecte Zurich

 
vers le haut
 

© 2008 Linard Nicolay

D / RUM / F / I / E